VISA information

Norway is a member of the Schengen Area. As a general rule, everyone who wishes to work in Norway must have a work permit. However, separate rules apply for applicants from EU/EEA/EFTA countries, and Nordic citizens (from Iceland, Denmark, Sweden and Finland) are fully exempt from the requirement to obtain a work permit.

Citizens of European Union (EU), citizens covered by the European Economic Area (EEA) agreement and citizens covered by the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) convention have easier access to travel and reside in Norway. As a citizen of the EU/EEA/EFTA, you can freely travel to Norway and start working as soon as you arrive. You can live and work in Norway for up to three months without having to apply for a permit. If you are seeking employment in Norway, you may reside in Norway for six months without a permit.

Where to apply

A visa application must be made on the form for the purpose, and submitted in person to the nearest Norwegian foreign service mission. If there is no Norwegian foreign service mission in the country, another Schengen country may represent Norway. This country will then process the application on behalf of Norway.

Some service missions, example given India, have outsourced the handling of VISA applications. Please follow this link to the Norwegian foreign service missions. More information and guidelines at Norwegian Directorate of Immigration.

double taxation

Norway has signed a number of conventions for the avoidance of double taxation. See a full list here