Thor: The Dark World features Norway

Thor: The Dark World, the superhero film featuring the Marvel Comics character Thor, is the eighth installment in the Marvel Cinematic Universe, but the first film to feature Norwegian landscapes.

The Norwegian landscapes was introduced to the production by Western Norway Film Commission.

The crew filmed along the coast of Norway with an Arri Alexa camera, capturing six hours of helicopter footage. Double Negative then embedded their CG rendering of Asgard on shots of the natural landscape. Says Double Negative visual effects supervisor Alex Wuttke: "The benefit of that is that you have some real world terrain to work with".

The film is directed by Alan Taylor, and features Chris Hemsworth, Natalie Portman, Tom Hiddleston, Stellan Skarsgård, Idris Elba, Kat Dennings, Ray Stevenson, Tadanobu Asano, Jaimie Alexander, Rene Russo and Anthony Hopkins reprising their roles from the first, with newcomers Christopher Eccleston, Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje, Zachary Levi and Clive Russell joining the cast.